EPICOM is your personal "compass" for the infection process in the corona pandemic. Use EPICOM to check the current corona infection rate and the risk level for your location. The app warns you if you are approaching a risk area or if you were recently in a risky area. You can track your own movement profile and deduce your risk of infection from it. EPICOM has links to all official websites of state governments, municipalities and districts. There you will find the official instructions regarding Corona. This is how you get the most important information for yourself and to protect your community. All data is stored exclusively on your smartphone. The source code of EPICOM is public. EPICOM is a philanthropic project that has been developed under the name EBOLAPP since 2014 to fight the Ebola epidemic in West Africa through donations, funds and volunteer engagement. The free app is run by the non-profit and government-independent association Freunde Liberias e. V ..

Download E P I C O M for IOS and Android

 

what can E P I C O M do 

EPICOM is a free app with which you can check the current Corona infection rate at your location or in another area. It's kind of your "compass" for the pandemic. EPICOM warns you if you are approaching a risk area with a higher infection rate than that at your current location or if you were recently in a location that has meanwhile become a risk area. You can track your own movement profile of the last 14 days in the app and recognize when you have been in one place for more than 15 minutes. Contacts with a risk of infection are so easy for you to reconstruct. EPICOM also has links to all official websites of state governments, municipalities and districts with codes of conduct and official instructions regarding Corona. In this way, you will receive the most important information you need for yourself and to protect your environment.

 
Android_Playstore Copy 2.png
Android_Playstore Copy 3.png
Android_Playstore Copy 4.png
Android_Playstore Copy5.png
Android_Playstore Copy5 Copy.png

privacy

The protection of your data is very important to us. Your data will only be stored on your own smartphone. Your movement profile does not appear as a line, but rather in the form of points that stand for the places where you have been staying for longer than 15 minutes. If you want to understand how EPICOM was programmed, you can download the source code of the app and at the data protection  here:

 

Operator of E P I C O M

Operator of EPICOM is the non-profit and non-governmental association Freunde Liberiase.V.. which was founded in 2011. The association doesn't want to earn money with the app, your data isn't valuable for it, and it doesn't represent the government of your country. It developed EPICOM exclusively through donations, subsidies, and volunteering.

 

E P I C O M  2.0

EPICOM is continuously developed and improved by us. The following additional functions are possible if necessary in the course of future updates:

 

Proof of vaccination

By submitting a personalised QR code to your mobile phone, you can prove that you are vaccinated against Covid-19 and are therefore no longer a risk to thecommunity.

 

Warning

If you have infected yourself, you can view your own movement profile as a reminder and warn the relevantcontacts of a risk of infection without the intervention of third parties using a pre-formulated standard text.

 

Health hotline

You can use this function to quickly and conveniently contact the nearest clinic or the local health office.

 

Medical rules of conduct

You will receive medical behavioural recommendations in the caseof illness via this function. For certain diseases, timely vaccination can still prevent the outbreak of the disease shortly after infection. In addition, further infection can be avoided if you follow the recommendations.

 

Web info

You have the opportunity to read all current publications on Covid-19 online in a clearly organized manner in the app.

 

Donations

You have the option of transferring a donation to the EPICOM operator for the operation and further development of EPICOM via the app.

 

Contact diary

You can manageyour contacts, your state of health, if necessary to record symptoms in the app, among other things, and thus simplify contact tracking and quickly answer important health issues in the caseof infection.

 

Check in

When you visit a restaurant, a sports event or the like, you can leave your contact details via the app and a QR code without being able to be read by the operator/organizer. In case you were infectious, everyone who was in the same place with you at the same time can simply be informed.

 
 

history

During the Ebola epidemic in West Africa in 2014/15, the Honorary Consul of the Republic of Liberia in Leipzig, together with the Friends of Liberia Association, developed the world's first warning app for the use in epidemics/pandemics based on contact tracking and tracings via GPS and Bluetooth. EBOLAPP, the name of the app, was finally tested in February 2020 at the JFK hospital, the largest hospital in Liberia. Shortly after the field test was completed in February 2020, the WHO declared the corona epidemic a global pandemic. EBOLAPP served as a model for the German Corona app from then on. After evaluating the field trial and the numerous Corona apps worldwide, the development team adapted the operating principle of EBOLAPP and programmed and published the German version under the name EPICOM

press

You can find press releases here

 

Thanks to supporters

Freunde Liberias e.V. thanks all sponsors, donors and supporters. Without them, EPICOM would not have been possible.

 

  • Michael Kölsch, Honorary Consul of the Republic of Liberia

  • Thomas Köppig (former CEOFreunde Liberias e.V., died 2019)

  • Appsfactory GmbH Leipzig

  • Freistaat Sachsen: "This projectis co-financed by taxpayers' money on the basis of the budget decided by the Saxony state parliament"

  • Steffen Bastian for JUWELIS GLOBAL

  • Hubert Jäger German Ambassador

  • Ronny Stein, Engelstein GmbH

  • Ilona Riedel,

  • Maik Ringel

  • Prof. Dr. Markus Scholz

  • Robert Menz

  • Dr. Georg Flascha

  • Stephan Schmitz

  • Horst Eichler

  • Dr. Jörn Ackermann

  • Lars Kölsch 

  • Franz Wilkening​

 

The protagonists

  • Initiative, idea and concept: Michael Kölsch

  • Programming: Appsfactory GmbH

  • Law: Lawyer Maik Ringel KPMG

  • Medical counselling: Prof. Dr. Markus Scholz IMISE

  • Responsible operator : Freunde Liberias e.V.

 
 

Donations

For the further development and operation of EPICOM, the association Freunde Liberias e. V. needs further donations.

Of course, if you wish, you will receive a donation receipt.

 

You can donate here:

 

Friends of Liberia e.V.

 

IBAN: DE57 8605 5592 1090 0531 73

BIC: WELADE8L (XXX)

 

(Sparkasse Leipzig)

 

E P I C O M  Africa

EPICOM will be available in Liberia/Africa under the name EBOLAPP. Unlike in Germany, the app will cover measles, lassa, cholera, and Ebola in addition to Covid-19. The development team is currently working on the necessary data transfer from Liberia to Germany. It remains the firm intention of the Friends Liberias e.V. to make the app available to Liberia/Africa soon.

 

name E P I C O M

"Epidemic compass" is a comprehensive functional description of the German version of EBOLAPP in just two words. In German, the English “epidemic” means not only epidemic but also pandemic. Compass in German is not only a technical instrument for determination of directions, but also synonymous for the alignment of a person according to values and their orientation in life. In this respect, the word pair "epidemic compass" and its shortening to the acronym EPICOM is an accurate description of the benefits of the German version of EBOLAPP.

 

We obtain our information on the geodata of the districts and federal states, their names, and the associated daily Covid-19 case numbers from the Robert Koch Institute. This makes its data available at https://npgeo-corona-npgeo-de.hub.arcgis.com/search?groupIds=b28109b18022405bb965c602b13e1bbc  with the following license: “Data license Germany - Attribution - Version 2.0” https://www.govdata.de/dl-de/by-2-0

information on risk areas

 
 

interface from Apple and Google

The development team has expressly refrained from using the interface (api) for EPICOM  that Google and Apple provide for Corona warning apps worldwide. On the one hand, the app remains independent of the two large corporations. On the other hand, the app can also cover other diseases in addition to Covid-19 if the api of Google and Apple isnot used. This is especially essential for the use in Africa. The two large corporations explicitly restrict the use of the common api to the use against Covid-19. The use of the app against Lassa, measles, cholera and Ebola planned for Africa would not be possible if the api of the two large corporations were used.

additional Information

Original app

Supporter of the App Verein Freunde Liberias eV

EPICOM ist Dein persönlicher „Kompass" für das Infektionsgeschehen in der Corona-Pandemie. Überprüfe mit EPICOM die aktuelle Corona-Infektionsrate und die Risikostufe für Deinen Standort. Die App warnt Dich, wenn Du Dich einem Risikogebiet näherst oder Dich kürzlich in einem mittlerweile riskanten Gebiet aufgehalten hast. Du kannst Dein eigenes Bewegungsprofil nachverfolgen und daraus Dein Infektionsrisiko ableiten. EPICOM verfügt über Links zu allen offiziellen Websites von Landesregierungen, Kommunen und Landkreisen. Dort findest Du die offiziellen Anweisungen bezüglich Corona. So erhältst Du die wichtigsten Informationen, die Du zu Deinem eigenen und zum Schutz Deiner Umgebung benötigst. Sämtliche Daten werden ausschließlich auf Deinem Smartphone gespeichert. Der Quellcodevon EPICOM ist öffentlich. EPICOM ist ein philanthropisches Projekt, welches bereits seit 2014 unter dem Namen EBOLAPP zur Bekämpfung der Ebola-Epidemie in West-Afrika durch Spenden, Fördermittel und ehrenamtliches Engagement entwickelt wurde. Träger der kostenlosen App ist der gemeinnützige und Regierungs-unabhängige Verein Freunde Liberias e. V..

E P I C O M  für IOS und Android Herunterladen

 

was kann  E P I C O M

EPICOM ist eine kostenlose App, mit welcher Du die aktuelle Corona-Infektionsrate an Deinem Standort oder in einem anderen Gebiet überprüfen kannst. Sie ist quasi Dein "Kompass" für das Infektionsgeschehen. EPICOM warnt Dich, wenn Du Dich einem Risikogebiet mit einer höheren Infektionsrate als der an Deinem aktuellen Standort näherst oder wenn Du kürzlich an einem Ort warst, der zwischenzeitlich zum Risikogebiet geworden ist. Du kannst Dein eigenes Bewegungsprofil der letzten 14 Tage in der App nachverfolgen und erkennst, wann Du Dich wo länger als 15 Minuten an einem Ort aufgehalten hast. Kontakte mit Ansteckungsrisiko sind für Dich so leicht zu rekonstruieren. EPICOM verfügt zusätzlich über die Links zu allen offiziellen Websites von Landesregierungen, Kommunen und Landkreisen mit Verhaltenskodizes und offiziellen Anweisungen bezüglich Corona. Auf diese Weise erhältst Du die wichtigsten Informationen, die Du zu Deinem eigenen und zum Schutz Deiner Umgebung benötigst.

 
Android_Playstore Copy 2.png
Android_Playstore Copy 3.png
Android_Playstore Copy 4.png
Android_Playstore Copy5.png
Android_Playstore Copy5 Copy.png

Datenschutz

Der Schutz Deiner Daten ist uns sehr wichtig. Deine Daten werden ausschließlich auf Deinem eigenen Smartphone gespeichert. Dein Bewegungsprofil erscheint nicht als Linie sondern in Form von Punkten, die für die Orte stehen, an denen Du Dich länger, als 15 Minuten aufgehalten hast. Falls Du nachvollziehen möchtest, wie EPICOM programmiert wurde, kannst Du Dir hier den Quellcode und die Datenschutzerklärung der App ansehen:

 

Träger von  E P I C O M

Träger von EPICOM ist der 2011 gegründete gemeinnützige und Regierungs-unabhängige Verein Freunde Liberias e. V.. Der Verein möchte mit der App kein Geld verdienen, für Ihn sind Deine Daten kein wertvolles Wirtschaftsgut und er repräsentiert nicht die Regierung Deines Landes. Er hat EPICOM ausschließlich durch Spenden, Fördermittel und ehrenamtliches Engagement entwickelt.

 

E P I C O M  2.0

EPICOM wird von uns kontinuierlich weiterentwickelt und verbessert. Folgende Zusatzfunktionen sind im Zuge zukünftiger Updates bei Bedarf möglich:

 

Impfnachweis

Du kannst durch die Vorlage eines personalisierten QR-Codes auf Deinem Handy nachweisen, dass Du gegen Covid-19 geimpft und somit kein Risiko mehr für die Gesellschaft bist.

Warnhinweis

Wenn Du Dich selbst angesteckt hast, kannst Du Dein eigenes Bewegungsprofil als Gedächtnisstütze auslesen und mittels eines vorformulierten Standardtextes die in Frage kommenden Kontakte ohne Zutun Dritter vor einem Ansteckungsrisiko warnen. 

Gesundheitshotline

Du kannst über diese Funktion schnell und bequem Kontakt zur nächstgelegenen Klinik oder zum lokalen Gesundheitsamt aufnehmen.

Medizinische Verhaltensregeln

Du erhältst über diese Funktion medizinische Verhaltensempfehlungen im Krankheitsfall. Bei bestimmten Krankheiten kann eine rechtzeitige Impfung kurz nach Ansteckung den Ausbruch der Krankheit noch verhindern. Zudem können weitere Ansteckungen vermieden werden, wenn Du Dich an die Empfehlungen hältst.

Webinfos

Du hast die Möglichkeit in der App alle aktuellen Veröffentlichungen im Netz zu Covid-19 übersichtlich geordnet zu lesen.

Spenden

Du hast die Möglichkeit dem Träger von EPICOM für den Betrieb und die Weiterentwicklung von EPICOM über die App eine Spende zu überweisen.

Kontakttagebuch

Du kannst Deine Kontakte, Deinen Gesundheitszustand, ggf. Symptome u. a. in der App festhalten und somit im Infektionsfall die Kontaktnachverfolgung vereinfachen und wichtige Gesundheitsfragen schnell beantworten.

Check in

Beim Besuch einer Gaststätte, einer Sportveranstaltung o. ä. kannst Du über die App und einen QR-Code Deine Kontaktdaten hinterlassen, ohne dass diese vom Betreiber/Veranstalter gelesen werden können. Für den Fall, dass Du infektiös warst, können alle, die mit Dir zur gleichen Zeit am gleichen Ort waren, einfach informiert werden.

 
 

Historie

Während der Ebola-Epidemie in Westafrika im Jahr 2014/15 hat der Honorarkonsul der Republik Liberia in Leipzig zusammen mit dem Verein Freunde Liberias e.V. die weltweit erste Warn-App zum Einsatz bei Epidemien/Pandemien auf der Basis des Contact - Trackings und - Tracings via GPS und Bluetooth entwickelt. EBOLAPP, so der Name der App, wurde Februar 2020 im JFK-Hospital, dem größten Krankenhaus Liberias final getestet. Unmittelbar nach Abschluss des Feldversuchs im Februar 2020 wurde die Corona- Epidemie von WHO zur Pandemie erklärt. EBOLAPP diente fortan als Vorbild für die deutsche Corona-App. Nach Auswertung des Feldversuchs und der zahlreichen Corona-Apps weltweit hat das Entwicklerteam das Funktionsprinzip von EBOLAPP angepasst und zunächst die deutsche Version unter dem Namen EPICOM programmiert und veröffentlicht.

Presse

Hier findest du Presseveröffentlichungen 

 

Dank an Unterstützer

Freunde Liberias e.V. bedankt sich bei allen Förderern, Spendern und Unterstützern. Ohne sie wäre EPICOM nicht möglich gewesen.

 

 

  • Michael Kölsch, Honorarkonsul der Republik Liberia

  • Thomas Köppig (ehem. Vors. Freunde Liberias e.V., gest. 2019)

  • Appsfactory GmbH Leipzig

  • Freistaat Sachsen: „Diese Maßnahme wird mitfinanziert durch Steuermittel auf der Grundlage des vom sächsischen Landtag beschlossenen Haushaltes“

  • Steffen Bastian für JUWELIS GLOBAL

  • Hubert Jäger, deutscher Botschafter 

  • Ronny Stein, Engelstein GmbH

  • Ilona Riedel,

  • Maik Ringel

  • Prof. Dr. Markus Scholz

  • Robert Menz

  • Dr. Georg Flascha

  • Stephan Schmitz

  • Horst Eichler

  • Dr. Jörn Ackermann

  • Lars Kölsch 

  • Franz Wilkening 

 

Protagonisten

  • Initiative, Idee und Konzept: Michael Kölsch

  • Programmierung: Appsfactory GmbH

  • Recht: RA Maik Ringel KPMG

  • Medizinische Beratung: Prof. Dr. Markus Scholz IMISE

  • Verantwortlicher Träger: Freunde Liberias e.V.

 
 

Spenden

Zur Weiterentwicklung und zum Betrieb von EPICOM benötigt der Verein Freunde Liberias e. V. weitere Spenden.

Selbstverständlich erhältst Du, falls erwünscht, eine Spendenbescheinigung.

Spenden kannst Du hier:

Freunde Liberias e.V.

IBAN: DE57 8605 5592 1090 0531 73

BIC: WELADE8L(XXX)

(Sparkasse Leipzig)

E P I C O M  Afrika

EPICOM wird in Liberia/Afrika unter dem Namen EBOLAPP verfügbar sein. Anders, als in Deutschland, wird die App dort neben Covid-19 auch Masern, Lassa, Cholera und Ebola abdecken. Derzeit arbeitet das Entwicklerteam noch am notwendigen Datentransfer von Liberia nach Deutschland. Es bleibt die feste Absicht des Trägervereins Freunde Liberias e.V., die App alsbald für Liberia/Afrika verfügbar zu machen.

 

Name  E P I C O M : Epidemic Compass

„epidemic compass“ ist eine umfassende Funktionsbeschreibung der deutschen Variante von EBOLAPP mit nur zwei Worten. Das englische epidemic bedeutet im Deutschen nicht nur epidemisch oder Epidemie sondern auch Seuche. Der Begriff der Pandemie ist also inkludiert.

Kompass im deutschen Sprachgebrauch ist nicht nur ein technisches Instrument zur Bestimmung der Himmelsrichtungen sondern auch Synonym für die Ausrichtung des Menschen nach Werten und seine Orientierung im Leben.

Insofern ist das Wortpaar „epidemic compass“ und dessen Verkürzung auf das Akronym EPICOM eine zutreffende Beschreibung des Nutzens der deutschen Variante von EBOLAPP.

 

Wir beziehen unsere Informationen zu den Geodaten der Landkreise und Bundesländer, ihren Namen, sowie die zugehörigen tagesaktuellen Covid-19 Fallzahlen über das Robert Koch Institut. Dieses stellt seine Daten unter https://npgeo-corona-npgeo-de.hub.arcgis.com/search?groupIds=b28109b18022405bb965c602b13e1bbc mit der folgenden Lizenz zur Verfügung: “Datenlizenz Deutschland – Namensnennung – Version 2.0” https://www.govdata.de/dl-de/by-2-0

Infos zu Risikogebieten

 
 

Schnittstelle von Apple und Google

Das Entwicklerteam hat ausdrücklich darauf verzichtet, die Schnittstelle (api), welche Google und Apple für Corona-Warn-Apps weltweit zur Verfügung stellt, für EPICOM zu verwenden. Zum einen bleibt die App so unabhängig von den beiden Großkonzernen. Zum anderen kann die App bei Verzicht auf die Nutzung der api von Google und Apple auch weitere Krankheiten zusätzlich zu Covid-19 abdecken. Das ist speziell für den Einsatz in Afrika unerlässlich. Die beiden Großkonzerne beschränken die Nutzung der gemeinsamen api nämlich ausdrücklich auf den Einsatz gegen Covid-19. Der für Afrika geplante Einsatz der App gegen Lassa, Masern, Cholera und Ebola wäre bei Nutzung der api der beiden Großkonzerne gar nicht möglich.

Weitere Informationen

Ursprüngliche App

Träger der App Verein Freunde Liberias e.V.